GENDA up for Committee Vote Tomorrow

xtheme_beg50e Action Alerts

GENDA, the Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act, is on the Investigations and Government Operations Committee for a vote TOMORROW, Tuesday (4/25). EQNY is proud to advocate for GENDA as part of the GENDA 2017 coalition – and we need your help. Please share this alert.

This vote is the first step in the process to get GENDA to the floor of the Senate for a vote in 2017. It is an EXTREMELY CRITICAL event, because if this Committee fails to pass GENDA, it will die in this Committee and go no further in 2017, and is unlikely to move in 2018, an election year.

You can take action right now to show the senators on this committee that New Yorkers want them to vote for GENDA in tomorrow’s meeting. 

If any of the following are your Senator please take 3 minutes to call them now! We’ve included notes for your call below. (You can check at www.nysenate.gov/find-my-senator)

 

Chair:
Senator Terrence Murphy (R)
Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455- 3111
murphy@nysenate.gov

Committee Members:
Senator Martin Golden (R)
Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455- 2730
golden@nysenate.gov

Senator Andrew Lanza (R)
Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455- 3215
lanza@nysenate.gov

Senator Thomas O’Mara (R)
Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455- 2091
omara@nysenate.gov

Senator Elaine Phillips (R)
Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455- 3265
ephillips@nysenate.gov

Senator David Carlucci (IDC)
Sponsor of GENDA
(518) 455- 2991
carlucci@nysenate.gov

Senator Ruben Diaz (D)
Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455- 2511
diaz@nysenate.gov

Senator Daniel Squadron (D)
Main Sponsor of GENDA
(518) 455- 2625
squadron@nysenate.gov

Senator Brad Hoylman (D)
Strong Sponsor of GENDA
(518) 455- 2451
hoylman@nysenate.gov

Making the call:

GENDA’s Bill Number is S502

The Bill’s proper name is “The Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act”.

If you are a constituent, it’s important that you impress upon the staff answering the phone that you are a constituent, and how important it is that the Senator vote for GENDA!

If you are not a constituent, don’t worry! Just tell the staff that this is a statewide bill that is important to you and you want them to know it.

Remember to remain polite – do not get angry or aggressive.

Tell your story: Tell why GENDA is important to you, to your family or to your friend.

Point out that 19 states and the District of Columbia already have laws like GENDA that protect transgender people from discrimination on the basis of gender identity and gender expression.

Point out that in New York State, all our major cities including Albany, Binghamton, Buffalo, Ithaca, New York City, and Rochester have enacted clear and permanent protections for the transgender community.

Please try to make calls because calls are considered more powerful than e-mails!